Pride 2015

Hey there

So, I wound up going to LA Pride this year and I did have a good time. It was the first year I actually had the opportunity to drink, and I have to admit, dealing with the crowds and heat, you really need a few in you. All in all, it was a great day with friends and there was a lot of eye candy to enjoy as well.

Now, that I have said all that, I do have some issues. First, Pride itself feels a little off course. To me, It appears to be more of an excuse for hot guys to strut around all day in G-strings and show off their goods. Secondly, it’s turning into a huge corporate event. I remember the days when there were booths and vendors from local businesses for as far as the eye can see. I guess I’m just disappointed in it because so much of the event is about nearly naked men, and that offends me because it’s like they’re saying that’s all gay men care about. I can’t speak for others, but that’s not what I’m all about. Of course I like to see some nice faces and bodies, but there’s more to me than that. You can’t wave a nice ass and some awesome pecs in front of me and keep me satisfied for long. I heard that Channing Tatum and Matt Bomer rode upon a float in the parade and some of my friends were disappointed they missed it. I am not. Big deal. They showed  up to plug their upcoming Magic Mike movie. It wasn’t out of community support or pride. It was about money and pushing your man candy onto the largest grouping of gay men you can find. Again, I find that offensive. The first Magic Mike movie was terrible. Some nice eye candy, but everything else about it was horrible and I can confidently say I will not be seeing the 2nd film, but I digress.

My point is that this event has become more about money than anything else and there was a day it meant more and was more. Now it’s just becoming a giant commercial and of course there’s plenty of liquor to be had to keep the masses off center and susceptible to their suggestions.

Leave a Reply

