Freedom

This has been on my mind for sometime and I just wanted to get this off my chest. I guess I’ve been inspired by some recent stories about opposition to same sex marriage and little fires erupting over things like Michael Sam’s kiss and other things like that. This may get long, so hunker down.

First, isn’t the best thing about America the fact that we are all free to live our lives as we see fit and that we all have the same (or should have) the same rights as everyone else? The point of that is so that we can carry on with our lives, each and every one of us, even if some aspect of our life is looked upon as offensive by others. Recently, a reporter on a Dallas, TX morning show was offended by Michael Sam kissing his boyfriend, but didn’t have any issues with male strippers being paraded around and carrying her around like Cleopatra. She claimed that she was Christian and followed ‘traditional values’ and that Mr. Sam’s PDA was offensive to her and went too far. I feel there’s a lot of hypocrisy here and I am growing sick of seeing it so much. You don’t like something about my life and maybe I don’t like something about yours, but as this is America, I have every right to be who I am and do what I want. Your approval is not needed, required, or frankly, wanted. I don’t care if anyone else would stamp my life ‘acceptable’. It’s not their life, nor their business.

Many legislators take stands against LGBT issues because they say the Bible should be our governing source. They believe this is a Christian nation. It isn’t. It never was. Mostly because most Christians don’t really know what being a Christian truly means. From what I’ve seen, very few of these faithful folks really understand the teachings of the Christian faith and that is shown most clearly by their actions. My point is these legislators should not be governing based on misguided ‘Christian’ values because their faith is their personal business but the law is their public business and all laws must accommodate everyone. Whether you agree or not with the other guy. These laws were put in place to ensure that everyone could live equally and fairly under the law. It favors no religion or gender or anything else. I think it’s rather clear by the actions of many as of late, that these laws are more important than ever in order to secure the freedom and happiness of millions of people who do not fall into what is perceived to be the mainstream. Those of us who exist on the fringes need protection from the ‘Christian’ bullies who feel that his is their country and we have to fall into line with their beliefs and values, but that just isn’t going to happen. Here’s a little taste for you Bible thumpers out there: “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.” Isaiah 55:8.

Jesus got it. Why can’t everyone else? BTW am I the only one who sees the irony over the fact that the Puritans fled England to escape religious persecution, yet once they got here, they inflicted that very persecution upon others once they got here. I guess it wasn’t so much their religion they cared about, they just wanted to be the ones persecuting. Think about it. They come over here in search of freedom, but when they get here, the kill the natives, take their land and create their government and that government goes about marginalizing every single minority in creation. The only people who have always had full freedom have been Christian, straight, white males. Everyone else has had to fight tooth and nail for their rights, and even today the fights continue on. Just saying. Something to think about. The

Leave a Reply

