Spotlight: “Jason Of The Valley”

Jason_Of_The_Valley_Cover_for_Kindle

This week’s spotlight falls upon my first novel ‘Jason Of The Valley’.

This was officially my first published book and has been the cornerstone of my writing career. It so far has spawned three sequels with a fourth on the way. Promise.

It was born from my experiences of living in the San Fernando Valley. It starts off, I feel, at the point when I began feeling my independence and through the characters, I address issues such as dating, sex, fame, and relationships. It was a fun book to write, I admit.

I tried to just throw in a small bit of myself. Only 5% of it is based on my own life. The rest is all made up, although the following volumes have started to become more autobiographical.

The first book was actually written on a dare. My friend challenged me to write it because he thought I could only write screenplays. Three months later, I shoved that manuscript in his face and  he loved it. I’ve actually gathered quite a few glowing reviews for it from others as well. The book is rather gay centric, but I think there are parts that are rather universal no matter what your orientation is. In fact, I think there’s more straight sex in the first book than gay.

I have adapted this work into other forms, such as a feature script and a pilot script. I always thought this would work really well as a TV show. The pilot was under consideration at LOGO, but they passed because they claimed that they had a similar project in production, but that was 4 or 5 years ago and I haven’t seen anything from them yet.  I’m still working on that angle to this day. I just really believe in it and I can see it becoming a reality. I see it so clearly, it feels real.

So, if you’re reading this, go on over to Amazon.com and look up Jason K. Melby and buy a copy of JOV. I am certain if you read it to the end, you will love it. 

Leave a Reply

